Think Culture... Think Growth


Med Culture is a Technical Assistance Unit funded by the European Union for the promotion of culture as vector of Human, Social and Economic Development in South Mediterranean countries.

The first Arab Film Awards are seeking films for the March 2018 edition – call for entries

The first Arab Film Awards are seeking films for the March 2018 edition – call for entries

The first Arab Film Awards are seeking films for the March 2018 edition – call for entries

Deadline for applications: 30 September 2017

The Arab Film Institute is delighted to announce an open call for the first pan-Arab “Oscars” ceremony, which will take place on 16 March 2018 in the United Arab Emirates. The Arab Film Awards were created to honour the work of the community in the film industry and to promote Arab culture globally. The awards ceremony will be held in March every year.

The Arab Film Awards will be handed out in the following categories:

– Narrative Film (the award goes to the producer)

– Non-fiction Film (the award goes to the producer)

– Director Narrative

– Director Non-fiction

– Actor

– Actress

– Screenwriter

– Editor

– Production Designer

– Costume Designer

– Hairdresser

– Make-up Artist

– Composer

– Director of Photography

– Sound Design

– Short Film

– Student Film

– Lifetime Achievement Award


Films participating in the Arab Film Awards must have had their first official screening (be it at a festival or as a regular cinema release) after 1 August 2016 and before 31 August 2017.

The directors of the competing films must be native Arabs or of Arab origin. Candidates for the individual categories must be of Arab origin or be holders of an Arab passport issued by one of the member states of the Arab League: Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, State of Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates or Yemen.          

The deadline for submissions is 30 September 2017.

Film owners are eligible to submit films. Producers, distributors, Arab film institutions and individuals should be members of the Arab Film Institute in order to submit films for the Arab Film Awards or for any individual category of the awards (the corporate membership rate is US$ 1,000; the annual regular membership fee is US$ 40; student membership is free of charge – for more information click here).

To submit a film, applicants must complete a full online application form and send the link to the film. The submitted films should be in their original language version with English subtitles.

All submitted films will be available on our online video platform to allow members to vote. The online voting for the first round will be open on 1 November 2017, and it will close on 15 January 2018. The institute will host a press conference to announce the list of nominations and will share the list with the public through its website and social media platforms on 15 February 2018.

For more information regarding the Arab Film Awards, please click here. And in order to read the full rules and regulations or to apply, please follow this link


Content produced in partnership with Cineuropa